Kindness despite hardship — Iraq

James Merriman
3 min readJul 16, 2016

--

Erbil City Centre

My friends looked at me with complete bewilderment. “Why did you go there?” “Was it safe?” “What did you do?” I am referring to a last minute trip to Erbil in Iraq last October.

Erbil airport is surprisingly clean and modern. Even the immigration officials seemed to be delighted to personally welcome the only Brit arriving from Amman on that hot and sunny Monday afternoon. A polite and swift process followed by a polite “Shukran” and I’m officially in.

My hotel arranged a taxi for my arrival. I was greeted with a sign holding my name which was held by a scary looking taxi driver. He was I guess late 40s with a thick moustache and heavy stubble. I did my best to break the ice with my limited knowledge of Arabic. “Marhaba. Hello. James” I said. “Salaam. Welcome. Ali my name” was the response. The ice was successfully shattered.

Ali’s taxi was, my Middle Eastern standards, in one piece! The car was modern, the interior not stained by smoke and the air conditioning actually worked. The 30 minute journey into town was going very smoothly until Ali decides to stop the car in a lay-by within the suburbs of Erbil. “One minute” he says to me. I begin to get a little suspicious and look at my phones GPS. Too far to walk and no other taxis around. What should I do?

Ali returns about 5 minutes later holding a plastic bag which I then presumed was his lunch. “Welcome to Erbil” he says with great pride as he hands me the bag. He bought me lunch! And what an excellent lunch it was. Quite possibly the nicest lamb kebab I’ve ever had. The meat was moist but not fatty, the salad plentiful but not overpowering and the bread, freshly made I reckon, was delicious. Ali even bought me a can of soft drink. This is without a doubt the best taxi driver I’ve ever experienced abroad. He even refused an extra tip!

The gratitude of the local people doesn’t stop there. Trying to read the menus in the takeaway eateries in the centre of Erbil was proving very difficult. One restaurant was preparing fresh falafel. In my ignorance I simply pointed at the oil and raised one finger to indicate I wanted to try one. Seconds later, not only did I receive a complete falafel wrap, I also received a yoghurt drink. Attempting to give some Dinar was pointless as the kind restaurant owner simply replied “Thank you for visiting Kurdistan”.

The kindness and the sincerity of the Kurdish people in Iraq is heart warming. It’s definitely a local encounter I’ll never forget.

Erbil Citadel

My name is James Merriman. Despite only being 31 years old and born & bred in North Devon, I’ve travelled to 126 countries. Most of my trips have been by myself and include places such as Central America, All though the Middle East (Israel, Iraq, Iran and Saudi Arabia for example) and all through Eastern Africa. This is my Lonely Planet profile which shows where I have visited so far: https://auth.lonelyplanet.com/profiles/mezzarino/trips. Get in touch on Twitter — @mezzarino or on my webpage.

--

--

James Merriman

Digital 'geek', globe trotter (159 countries so far), sport fanatic and dabble in a bit of cooking too.