The Science Behind Why Your Facebook Friends Ignore Facts

Cognitive bias and you

Mike Fishbein
5 min readOct 17, 2016
Photo by André Sanano on Unsplash

I’ve long believed that humans are rational beings. That is to say, we use logic and evidence to make decisions and determine what’s true. As it turns out, a wealth of cognitive research proves that I was decidedly wrong.

We live in a world where more information is flooding our brains than ever before. Advertisers have long battled for our attention. But now, software developers battle for it too, and then sell it back to the advertisers. The more effectively Google, Twitter, and Medium can capture our attention, the more money they make.

If we didn’t filter almost all of the information that we receive, we’d be completely overwhelmed. That’s why our brains use “shortcuts” to pick out the bits of information that are most likely to be useful. And by useful, I don’t necessarily mean true. By useful, I simply mean that the information will help you stay alive.

You may find yourself wondering: Why is the world so divided on religion and politics? Why do people support Donald Trump? Or Hillary Clinton? Why can’t I convince my friend to change his mind?

Below, I’ll share how our brains deal with information overload — and the associated cognitive biases that prevent us from correctly understanding the facts.

--

--