Official White House photo by Pete Souza

Aloha, President Obama

Marc Hertz
4 min readJan 20, 2017

I don’t want to write this, because I know it means the end of something I’ll likely never experience again. President Barack Hussein Obama may not have been the perfect president, but for many reasons, he was my president.

For starters, we both graduated from the same school in Hawaii. We may have done so a decade apart, but because it was a K-12 school, we were actually there at the same time. After he left, I would’ve walked the same halls, played basketball on the same courts, had a lot of the same classes, and maybe even some of the same teachers. And while I didn’t know him, the realization that we were that close in proximity and had both spent as much time as we did there made me feel like I knew a bit more about him, in a way that most people don’t.

Growing up in Hawaii also gave me a small window into his experience. Knowing what it’s like to live in Hawaii and how island living affects you, I’m convinced his calm demeanor comes from his time in Hawaii, a place where people pride themselves on their laid-back state of mind. And the islands have a unique draw, bringing back many who grew up there but moved away, as indicated by his annual late-December holiday vacations to Oahu, a trek I try to take once a year as well.

It was those connections that made him so relatable to me, and made me so proud of what he accomplished. To a small degree, what he did made me believe I could dream bigger. That kid from Hawaii, from my school in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, somehow became the 44th president of the United States. How could I not be inspired?

And while I may be a lifelong Democrat who was relieved to have a Democrat in the White House after eight years of President Bush, it was the person that President Obama was, and the leader he became, that made me connect with him like no other president.

He’s the coolest president, mom jeans and all. He’s the funniest president, certainly in my lifetime. If you’ve seen his performances at the annual White House Correspondents’ Association Dinner, you know what I mean. His rhetorical skills are top-notch, serving him equally well on the campaign trail and at the State of the Union, in times of hope and times of despair. He also has some serious writing chops, as his two best-selling books indicate, as well as the numerous speeches and articles he’s written. And while I may not know his IQ, his intelligence is evident.

But what was most telling for me, what made him stand apart from others in the executive office, was his decency, his compassion, and his humanity. The sheer amount of vitriol and hatred thrown at him from those on the extreme right, be it for his policy choices, how he governed or the color of his skin, was unlike anything I’d ever seen. And yet, somehow, he kept it together, appeared (mostly) unshaken, and rose above the anger and divisiveness in his continued attempt to unite all Americans. He had a scandal-free eight years. He’s a dedicated husband, a proud father, and a true role model for children, especially black children.

Much like living in Hawaii did for me, his presidency spoiled me. And that will become very clear when the new administration takes over. The 45th president is, from all indications, the opposite of President Obama. Instead of continuing forward, we’re moving backward. Rather than championing inclusivity, it now feels about exclusivity. Thoughtfulness and decency get replaced with pettiness and vindictiveness.

Am I worried? Sure. For many reasons. I’m much more worried for the people who already feel targeted, and who will suffer because of the presumptive policies that will be enacted. And I plan to stand up for those in danger, call my representatives when necessary (which will likely be often), and fight for what’s right.

While this new administration may have me on edge, what I’ve come to realize, and most appreciate about President Obama, is what he gave me. It’s something I plan to use starting today.

Hope.

I don’t just mean the platform he ran on that helped get him elected. It’s knowing that someone like him, that kid from Hawaii, that intelligent, kind man, could become the 44th president. My president. And that gives me hope, because while there may not be someone else with the exact same background, possessing the exact same qualities and skill sets, I know there are more individuals out there like him. Those who want to move forward. Who value inclusivity. Who treasure thoughtfulness and decency. They’re in government, at the federal, state and local level. Or they’re thinking about taking the plunge. And now, seeing what’s about to happen, they’re motivated. Incredibly so. Ready for the fight of their lives. And those are the leaders we’ll need.

So mahalo nui loa, President Obama, for everything you did for our country, and the pride you gave me in being an American during your eight years in office. And while it may be the end of your presidency, this isn’t goodbye, as something tells me this is just the beginning of your legacy.

--

--

Marc Hertz

Senior editor @1021Creative. Writer/editor. Opinions are probably my own. He/him.