First Month as GSoC Intern: Building Scribe-Data CLI

Mahfuza Humayra Mohona
3 min readJun 26, 2024

--

I’m excited to share my experience as a Google Summer of Code (GSoC) intern working on the Scribe-Data project. My task is to turn Scribe-Data into a command-line tool for Wikidata language packs. Let me tell you what I’ve been up to in my first month!

Week 1: Getting Started

I kicked things off by meeting my mentors to plan out the project. We decided how to organize everything, which was super helpful. I also wrote a SPARQL query to find Bangla adjectives and prepositions in Wikidata. At first, I was worried when I didn’t get the results I expected, but Andrew (my mentor) helped me figure it out. I learned a lot about how to use Wikidata’s search system!

Week 2: Building the Basics

This week, I started creating the actual command-line tool. I made it show a list of available languages and word types for each language.

It was challenging, but I learned many things about how command-line tools are structured. I also planned to add more features next week, like searching for specific words and changing how the results are saved.

Week 3: Making Progress

I spent this week improving the tool. I finalized how all the files should be organized in our GitHub repository. With the help of mentor, I also made the tool better at searching for words based on language and word type.

I’m starting to understand more about how Scribe-Data works as a whole.

Week 4: Putting It All Together

The changes I’ve been working on for weeks finally got approved and added to the main project. That felt amazing! I also added some new features:

  • Users can now choose where to save their results.
  • The CLI tool can create different types of files (.json, .csv, and .tsv) to store the data.

A Big Thank You to My Amazing Mentors!

I couldn’t talk about my GSoC experience without mentioning the incredible mentors guiding me every step of the way. They’ve been super helpful, supportive, and kind throughout this journey. I want to give a special shoutout to:

  • Will Yoshida
  • Andrew McAllister
  • Henrik Thomasson

These awesome folks have been there for me whenever I’ve had questions or felt stuck. Their expertise and encouragement have made this experience so much more rewarding.

Whether it’s helping me understand complex concepts, reviewing my code, or just offering words of encouragement, my mentors have been instrumental in my progress. I’m incredibly grateful for their patience and dedication. They’re not just mentors; they’re becoming role models for my future in open-source development.

To Will, Andrew, and Henrik: Thank you for your time, knowledge, and support. You’re making this GSoC experience unforgettable. ❤️

What’s Next?

I’m not done yet! There are so many things I need to and want to do for this project. My goals for the coming week are to:

1. Finish adding all the planned features to the tool.

2. Fix any bugs I find.

3. Start writing documentation on how to use the tool

I’m having a blast working on this project. It’s challenging, but I’m learning so much. I can’t wait to see what the rest of the summer brings!

--

--