University of Colorado Boulder

Mia Farraday
3 min readDec 3, 2019

--

Photo Credit: Your Training Edge

At the University of Colorado Boulder, no two Buffs are alike. We value difference and support equity and inclusion of all students and their many intersecting identities. Pick one of your unique identities and describe its significance.

Ever since I started playing sports, I had always told to be a leader. To be louder, more vocal, and to be someone that others could look up to. But I never understood how to do that. I am an inherently quiet person. For most of my life, I was the kid who tried to hide in the back of the class and never raised her hand. I was the kid that did well in school even though I never participated, and I most definitely was not what the teachers would describe as a leader. Being as quiet as I was, I never believed that I could be an effective leader. I didn’t believe in myself. But others believed in me. Ever since I was 13, I have been the captain of my club volleyball team, and I was a captain on my JV volleyball team sophomore year and the varsity team senior year.

In my sophomore year, I was given the opportunity to improve as a leader. My volleyball coach selected me to be in a leadership group called Life of a Knight. Although I was confused about why she would choose me to be a part of the group, I joined. Through that group, I have attended a leadership camp in Wisconsin, taught middle schoolers at HPP (Human Performance Project) meetings, organized multiple events within my school, and this year I am in charge of my school’s food pantry. I gradually learned to trust myself, and I started to develop into a leader.

Through many meetings and conferences full of great leaders, I found that leadership comes in many different forms. I learned that I don’t have to be the person that talks the most or takes charge to be a leader. I can lead by example. I can talk teams out of a negative situation, bring a player up, or give advice in the huddle, but I have found that my most effective form of leadership is how I play. During volleyball, I will go for every ball, remain positive, cheer for every point, applaud my teammates, and always give 100%. Being this type of leader has allowed me to stay true to myself while helping my team. I will never be the loudest person in the room, and if I tried to be, I wouldn’t find success or be a good leader.

My growth has allowed me to find how I can contribute to my team in the best way possible and stay true to myself at the same time. Leadership has become an integral part of who I am. I am always striving to learn from others on how to be a good leader as well as learn from my mistakes. It has allowed me to gain opportunities that benefit the community and allow me to serve the community that I have grown up in.

I have always been passionate about helping and serving others, and being a leader has allowed me to do so. Without it, I would not be able to serve my community or my teammates, and I wouldn’t be half the person that I am today.

--

--