Water Drop

Where’s the light to see you’re a diamond?

Mia Donna
2 min readApr 10, 2020

4/16/2007

I remember seeing that flash of light catch my eye.
A diamond! I jumped, grabbed my heart, ran outside.
I tiptoed through the grass,
Looking, closer and closer
Looking, left and right
To see where the light had glistened in my eye.
There it is! I jumped again and opened my hand to snatch it up..
Look! Oh…my diamond was no more than a water drop.
Innocence. I closed my hand.
Innocence. There’s that feeling of purity again.
Innocence see’s water droplets as diamonds in light.
Strike.
Come back to me and be present again.
Shake my chain, Master.
Remember my forgotten name.
I do not fall victim to the fool’s game.
Dark horse, you’re dancing circles again.
Closer and closer.
In fear, you stop.
Feel you’re closing me in.
Carousel horse, turn your head, bare your teeth.
Attention.
You bit my left shoulder again.
Stop.
Circus horse
I raise my whip again.
Light. Flash in my eye
Remember you’re just a horse again.
Water droplet
Where’s the light to see you’re a diamond again.
I love you dark horse,
But I do not accept your dance again.
Maybe my heart will catch the light
And in fear, closer and closer
You will come.
I open my hand,
I remember your name
Release the blame in your shame.
These chains hold me present.
Whip to play.
Dark horse.
Circle. Close in.
Maybe we’ll be here a different day.
Close my hand
No diamonds in innocence today.
Come rain, cleanse me.
Help me see diamonds in water again.

--

--

Mia Donna

Sharing a collection of inner growth and consciousness expanding poetry.