Why I Rejected My Manager

Mianya Ong
Personal Growth
Published in
5 min readJan 19, 2018

--

“Jane has difficulty reading you. She does not feel a strong connection with you. But performance wise, you’ve been doing very well on your projects.”

Jane was my direct supervisor. The above remarks came from her boss. We had regular 1 on 1’s to review performance, raise concerns, and set goals. It was all very textbook, but this comment stood out.

I knew exactly what she was referring to. Jane was an all-around rock star when it came to her craft. And while I greatly admired her aptitude in that area, she had much less experience in the field of people management.

For months, I tried my best to calibrate to Jane’s management approach and work style. This was out of character for me. I pride myself on being a strong communicator and typically make it a point to be transparent about the resources and support I need in order to deliver the best results. I knew that finding an effective way to work together was crucial to having a functional manager-employee dynamic.

After multiple attempts without success, I decided the best way to maintain a working relationship was simply conforming to Jane’s work style. I was agreeable and diplomatic, making sure to be receptive to all suggestions. I implemented feedback quickly and adapted. So despite Jane doing her part in ‘managing’ me, I could certainly understand why she sensed a…

--

--

Mianya Ong
Personal Growth

writing to stay clever & retain my sanity 🙃 // musings on tech, startups, life, growth, self improvement // ong.mianya@gmail.com