How I Made My Team More Efficient with Remote Desktop Manager

Michael Persson
5 min readJan 6, 2019
Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

In my daily work as a software test engineer, I have to deal with a lot of servers. We test a building management system built up by Linux and Windows servers. One system can consist of approximately 180 Linux servers and 10 or so Windows machines. We have two such systems!

On top of that, we have some physical and virtual machines that we share within the team. Some of them we use for executing automatic tests, others for running specific tools.

For a very long time, we all used Putty and the built-in Windows Remote Desktop program to connect to our machines. This required us to remember IP’s and login credentials by heart. So one could maybe remember a handful, then the rest had to be looked up in some obscure Excel sheet on a shared drive somewhere.

Since it was easy to make errors we frequently experienced issues like team members logging on to the wrong server or system, restarting the wrong device, upgrading the wrong server software, and so on.

Remote Desktop Manager by Devolutions

To solve this I found Remote Desktop Manager. I started to use it myself to test it out properly. I tried for a week or two to make sure it was something worth sharing with the team and it sure was. I thought this was the tool we…

--

--

Michael Persson

Software test engineer, hobby photographer and gamer. As an introvert I love to communicate by written word.