Why I Like To Create

Instead of generating content or documenting

Michael Shook
4 min readJun 28, 2018
Awesome image courtesy of Pexels via Pixabay

I know a lot of people in the world are really into generating content and documenting their lives instead of creating. I don’t have an opinion about what they do. This is my opinion and how I live my life.

I think everyone is entitled to live their lives on their own terms doing what they think is the right thing to do. So if someone wants to spend their life taking pictures of themselves opening a box of shoes or brushing their teeth, or do an “all face all the time” video discussing how much they like a certain brand of hot dogs — I say, “Go for it.”

There are in fact, all kinds of things for all kinds of people, especially online. I know I have preferences about what I like to watch and listen to; I think everybody should choose for themselves.

Here is why I like creating as opposed to generating content or documenting regular everyday life.

I think creating sparks the soul.

When you create something in the real world, you have to go through a process to make it extant so that it is real. The steps to that process are simple and easy.

Depending on what you are creating, however, the things you actually need to do might be simple or complicated.

--

--