Heart in a Mason Jar

Michael Meurer
4 min readMar 7, 2018

The anarchy of memory and emotion

Fishing boats in the marina at La Cruz de Huanacaxtle, México

March 6, 2018
by Michael Meurer
(Read in Spanish here.)

About a month ago, I met a woman named Rosey in the Mexican fishing village of La Cruz de Huanacaxtle where I am holed up trying to write. Rosey is her Mexican nickname, including the odd spelling.

Rosey was walking at dusk to a public presentation by a British couple who had sailed the world more than a decade ago in a self-built catamaran made from wood, paper and tar. They came to La Cruz to study indigenous Huichol culture and stayed. This night, they were sharing a documentary about their experiences with a sizable audience and showing how their boat was constructed.

Rosey was stumbling and nearly falling from the high curbs, designed for rainy season in La Cruz, at each corner. I crossed the street and quietly rushed to catch up with her, then asked if I could help. She said yes, I could take her arm and walk with her. I accompanied her to the presentation and we became friends.

She recently shared her story with our mutual friend Alef and me over coffee at Organic Love, a wonderful restaurant started by Alef.

--

--