VR and Child Safety

Michaela Wirtz
6 min readNov 14, 2022

Parents pay attention to your kid’s apps!

VR headset. Photo by James Yarema on Unsplash
Photo by James Yarema on Unsplash

It was at the end of a rather long, but uneventful day. I had spent a few solid hours in Immersed, cranking out copy in the Space Lounge. Socialized with my Cafe Crew peeps. Played a few rounds of mini golf by myself to loosen my shoulders up before powering down for the evening.

The last thing I do every evening is to sit for a few minutes and enjoy the koi pond that came with one of my apps. Just a bit of ‘me time’ to relax and enjoy the nature sounds from one of my playlists before I head out.

A window appeared with an invite to a ‘party’ by someone I didn’t recognize named Emmanuel. Of course, I’ve met a lot of people online. Many of them have different names in VR, Immersed and on Discord.

Strange, I thought. No one has ever invited me to a party before without texting me in VR or Discord. First time for everything, right? I accepted the invite, thinking that it might be someone I knew.

Dumb move, right?

I ported over to a new room. No avatar.

“Hello?” I asked. Maybe Emmanuel had accidentally dropped. I slowly turned around to look at the room. It was pretty standard. No real attempt at decorating the space yet.

--

--

Michaela Wirtz

Michaela is an eclectic & highly caffeinated DIYer. Join her as she continues her quest to explore virtual reality to find the best productivity apps out there