10 Less Gory Alternatives to “I’d Like to Pick Your Brain”

Because honestly, you’re grossing me out.

Michael Ames
2 min readApr 16, 2019

There’s been great writing done on more effective ways of asking for help than “I’d like to pick your brain.” The consensus is that the phrase is vague, self-serving, and probably won’t get you what you want. I agree. But today I’d like to address a more pressing problem:

It’s gross.

It’s like dentistry fell in love with cannibalism and made a baby metaphor. I cringe every time I hear it. And it comes up in professional environments all the time.

In professional environments, brains, like noses, are not for picking. (https://archive.org/stream/brainsurger0star/brainsurger0star#page/16/mode/2up)

Luckily for us, the English language is capable of better. I hereby present ten respectful, professional alternatives that you can use to express your desire for help without grossing anybody out:

  1. I’d like to draw on your experience
  2. I’d like to learn from your prior work
  3. I’d really appreciate your perspective
  4. I would benefit from your viewpoint
  5. Your background would be very helpful
  6. Your experiences would be insightful
  7. I could use your help in understanding
  8. It would help me to see your perspective
  9. I’d like to ask you some questions
  10. I would like your advice

All of these are best paired with specifics about what you would like to learn and what you might offer in return, even if it’s just lunch.

Leave the brain picking to the experts.

--

--

Michael Ames

Sr. Director of Healthcare and Life Sciences for SADA. Inspired by brilliant technology, motivated teams, and principled leadership.