All You Need To Know About Poblenou

From the Mind of Michael Cline
5 min readJan 13, 2023

A Guide To This Fabulous Barcelona Neighborhood

Poblenou

Are you thinking about moving to Barcelona? With so many barrios to choose from, it can quickly become an overwhelming ordeal. Each neighborhood has its pros and cons, ups and downs, and its own flavor.

In this article, I’ll tell you all you’ll need to know if Poblenou is a good match for you.

From New Yorker to Spanish Resident

In September 2020, during the height of the pandemic and the world’s locked-down borders, I quietly snuck into Spain. The reason for doing so isn’t important, but it was an epic adventure.

I settled in barrio Poblenou, my new home. This is where I wrote and published two books, the perfect environment to get my creative juices flowing. Much like Henry Miller and Ernest Hemmingway, I left my native land to pursue my dream of becoming an author.

Although I’m far from an expert on Barcelona, I can tell you what my experience has been thus far living in Poblenou.

Why Poblenou?

Located east of the city center, Poblenou encompasses a large area from the Glories Mall to the beach. What was once an industrial part of town is now home to an eclectic mix ranging from young hipsters to older Catalan locals. The neighborhood is dotted with…

--

--

From the Mind of Michael Cline

American nomad living in Barcelona. I write words. Author of MY ADVENTURES IN TUVA and NEW YORK CITY JUNKY DAYS