The Biggest Myths About Tuvan Throat Singing

From the Mind of Michael Cline
9 min readMay 30, 2023

All You Need to Know About This Unique Vocal Tradition

The Republic of Tuva

I first learned of the vocal technique called throat singing, referred to as “khoomei” by the Tuvans, in 1999, just after an excruciating and difficult struggle with addiction. Thankfully, the universe ensured I stumbled upon the Sundance Film Festival award-winning film Genghis Blues. The rest is history.

Because of this beautiful documentary, I was able to break free from the monkey on my back and move forward into an exciting and action-packed life. Since then, I’ve become known as the guy who started the Facebook Tuvan Music group, the New Yorker who was awarded the Ambassador of Tuvan Culture title, and the author of My Adventures in Tuva, the tale of my entire Tuvan experience, including three trips to the Center of Asia to spend time with its most famous throat singers.

Where is Tuva and What is Throat Singing?

Tuva is located in the geographical center of Asia. It was an independent nation from 1921 until 1944 when it was swallowed up by the USSR. Today it is a part of the Russian Federation and is located in southern Siberia, just north of Mongolia. You won’t find it on a map since it’s a region of Russia, but you can find its capital. Try a Google Maps search for Kyzyl to see its location.

--

--

From the Mind of Michael Cline

American nomad living in Barcelona. I write words. Author of MY ADVENTURES IN TUVA and NEW YORK CITY JUNKY DAYS. Professional content writer by trade.