Everything Tourists Should Know About Visiting Barcelona

From the Mind of Michael Cline
9 min readNov 12, 2022

Friendly Tips & Suggestions from a Local

Photo by Carles Rabada on Unsplash

I relocated to this fabulous city from New York in September 2020. I did so during the pandemic and while the borders were closed. It wasn’t an easy feat, but I found some gray areas in the rules which allowed me to enter. My plan was to stay in Barcelona for three months. I never left. I’m still here.

I did experience some initial culture shock and wrote a well-received article called An American Living in Barcelona. Since it did so well, I’ve decided to write a guide for those coming to visit the city that I now call my home.

I am certainly not an expert in all things Barcelona. I’ve never worked as a tour guide and I barely speak Spanish. I only know a few words in Calatan, the official language of Catalonia, the autonomous community in that Barcelona resides. What I do have is first-hand experience living here.

If you’re visiting Barcelona for the first time, I believe I can help you have a much better experience. This article isn’t exactly a travel guide, it’s more of painting some broad strokes as to what to do, what to see, and what to expect. ¡Venga, vamos!

--

--

From the Mind of Michael Cline

American nomad living in Barcelona. I write words. Author of MY ADVENTURES IN TUVA and NEW YORK CITY JUNKY DAYS