How to make Alcoholic Ginger Beer

Michael Cumming
5 min readJul 11, 2024

Recently, my girlfriend and I discovered hard ginger beer and decided it was delicious. There’s a couple of versions for sale at Bin Inn, but it’s pretty expensive stuff. I do a lot of homebrewing, but had never made anything but beer. I thought this would be a great opportunity to branch out. If you have never brewed before, don’t worry! The yeast do most of the work. This ginger beer recipe is super simple and takes much less effort than all-grain beer brewing.

There is no “right” way to brew. I’ll be presenting one way to do it, the way I did it. Where appropriate, I’ll also give different options that you can use depending on what gear you have access to. Like many hobbies, it can be as simple or complex as you want it to be. There are a million gadgets you can buy, but in the end, you are just putting yeast in with a sugar, from which they make alcohol. People have been doing this for thousands of years, so don’t overthink it.

This ginger beer recipe is super simple and takes much less effort than all-grain beer brewing.

Step 1: Ingredients:

For this recipe I used the following:

3.7 pounds of fresh ginger

6 pounds of turbinado sugar.

6 lemons

6 limes

Red star champagne yeast.

Totally Optional:-

--

--