Believed

A novel to help raise awareness about sexual assault.

Michael Emberger
3 min readOct 15, 2021
Photo provided by the author. Cover by Emily’s World of Design.

“Heartbreaking, but beautifully written, Believed serves as a living, breathing testimony for all who have suffered — and survived, sexual assault.”
— regallywritten (Instagram)

Sexual assault is an issue that has weighed on me since I became friends with a survivor. I connected with her over writing, and she opened my eyes to a world of trauma and PTSD that was largely unknown to me before. I didn’t know of the lasting pain that comes from this crime, and I’m pretty sure most of us who haven’t lived it have little idea of the reality. We see the occasional news story. We hear the occasional statistic. Life goes on…

But it doesn’t. Trauma is a life sentence for those who bear it, and coming to understand that is what broke my heart. I saw how it affected my friend. It’s not something she can just put behind her. No amount of love, support, encouragement, validation, understanding, belief, or patience can make the pain disappear.

I couldn’t stop thinking about it. It bothered me, and there was so little I could do. So, I poured my heart and soul into a story that conveys these feelings. Believed is a book for survivors, and for those who love them. It’s a book to encourage readers to think and to empathize and to consider the realities of so many whose lives have been affected by this crime. It’s my way of giving my voice as an author to those who are forced to remain silent.

Sexual assault is not my story. I haven’t experienced it, I don’t live with the resulting trauma, and I’m not willing to profit from the pain of survivors. I published this book on Amazon at the minimum pricing allowed. I make no royalty on print sales, and I’ve put free ebook files on my website for download. I want people to read this story, share it with friends and family, help spread the word, and donate to an organization that helps in the fight. But above all, I want readers to let the survivors in their lives know that they care, that they believe them, and that they are there for them.

If you’re reading this and you are a survivor, my heart goes out to you. I’m sorry. I pray this book will help you in some way.

“There have been a LOT of tears while reading this book. The content is complex and human and relatable. Even though the subject isn’t exactly sunshine and rainbows, it brings a certain amount of joy and peace, because more than anything it makes me feel seen, and heard, and it reminds me that I’m not in this alone. Being able to use words and stories to give another human being that feeling is truly a gift, and it’s executed beautifully with Believed.”
— Unnamed Survivor of sexual assault

Download free from my website:

Amazon link:

--

--

Michael Emberger

Author of Believed, a novel to help raise awareness about sexual assault and encourage survivors. www.michaeljamesemberger.com/believed