How To Download Your Source Code From Azure App Service

Michael Henderson
3 min readOct 21, 2018

If you are like me you most likely have all of your eggs in one basket. For example, I have one laptop that is my daily driver. That laptop has everything I need on it including all the repositories that I contribute to. Well, the hard drive in my laptop decided to die the other day and I was not able to get my source code to one particular project that I have spend a lot of time on. The project I am speaking of is an API that I am running in Azure.

This API is one that I did not have under source control. I would make changes/update the code and then directly publish to Azure from visual studio. I thought I had lost all of the work I had put into building the API and would have to start from scratch but I found a way to download my source code from Azure.

Work Flow

So, before I show you how to download your source code from Azure, let me show you the workflow. The workflow is short and sweet:

  1. FTP into azure app service.
  2. Download the source code.

FTP into Azure App Service

First, log in to your Azure portal and click on the app service that you are wanting the source code for.

The app service dashboard in the Azure Portal.

--

--

Michael Henderson

Writer | Software Engineer | Investor | It’d mean a lot if you’d 👏 and follow me. New articles weekly!