The Beginners Guide to Keto

Michael Hyatt
5 min readOct 30, 2018

9 Things I Wish I’d Know Before I Started

Now that I’m starting my twelfth week of keto, my weight loss is more obvious. I’m starting to get lots of questions about keto and how to get started so I thought I’d compile a list of recommendations with the appropriate links.

Let’s start with the basics. The “keto diet” was originally developed to treat epilepsy in children. However, it has become a popular way for adults to lose excess weight, gain mental clarity, develop more energy, and cure certain diseases, especially those related to high insulin and inflammation.

People who are in a state of ketosis burn fat (ketones) rather than sugar (glucose). Many people confuse keto with various high protein diets. It’s not. Keto is a low-carb, moderate protein, high-fat diet. However, I don’t like to refer to it as a diet. For me, it’s a lifestyle — a way of eating that I intend to practice for the rest of my life.

Before I offer my recommendations, please know I’m neither a doctor nor a medical professional. I’m simply an enthusiast who has seen significant progress. I’ve never been a part of any program that has delivered faster results in less time.

This is what has worked for me. Your mileage may vary.

1. Record your current metrics.

Everyone I know who has tried keto has made dramatic progress. Watching your numbers improve is exciting. But first, you need to know your baseline. At the very least, record your weight and other key measurements like your waist size, hips, etc. Also, take a good set of “before photos.” There’s a good chance you will want to use these in the future.

2. Read Dr. Eric Berg’s little booklet.

There are tons of books, videos, and websites about keto. You can go as deep as you want. I have explored much of what is out there, but I’ve found nothing clearer or more succinct than Dr. Berg’s little booklet, It’s Not Lose Weight to Get Healthy, It’s Get Healthy to Lose Weight (Kindle edition). If you want the physical version, you’ll have to order it through Dr. Berg’s website. You can read it in an hour. It provides a great overview of the topic.

3. Subscribe to Dr. Berg’s YouTube Channel.

Dr. Berg has recorded more than two thousand short videos about every topic related to keto you can imagine. He is an outstanding teacher. He has the ability to make the complex simple on every imaginable topic from eliminating muscle cramps to amazing chocolate fat keto bombs. He is my go-to source for answering keto questions and solving problems.

4. Track your macros and nutrients using CarbManager.

This is important, especially at the beginning. Keto is often counter-intuitive and an app will keep you on the straight-and-narrow, ensuring you get enough fat and not too much protein or carbs. I tried several apps, but my favorite is CarbManager. It’s easy to use and comprehensive. It features a huge food database and also has the ability to scan food barcodes. It even rates foods in terms of how keto-friendly they are.

5. Eat clean by avoiding processed foods.

Predictably, the big food manufacturers are now taking advantage of keto’s popularity. They are producing processed foods that — while technically meeting keto criteria — have little nutritional value. My advice, avoid processed food. Get in the habit of reading labels. Even supposed keto-friendly foods have hidden sugars and higher-than-you’d-think carbs. When in doubt, stick to simply grilled meats, steamed vegetables, fresh salads, and clean fats. Here’s a list of foods to eat and list of foods to avoid.

6. Take supplements as needed.

As you transform from burning sugar to burning fat, you might experience flu-like symptoms (e.g., the “keto flu”) or leg cramps. I experienced the latter. One way to combat this is to supplement your diet with electrolytes, particularly magnesium, potassium, and calcium. My wife, Gail, and I take Dr. Berg’s Electrolyte Powder. I also experienced insomnia as a result of having too much energy. I started taking a calcium and magnesium supplement that seems to have totally cured that. (I tried a lot of things to get to this point.)

7. Test your blood for ketones.

How can you tell if you are in ketosis? Forget urine tests. They are not accurate. Instead, use a ketone blood test. Keto-Mojo makes an easy-to-use, FDA-approved device that will deliver a reliable measure of your ketone levels. If you measure between 0.5 and 3.0, you’re in ketosis. I test myself daily. It is fast and easy. (By the way, if you order the device, learn to use it by watching the videos not by trying to read the manual.)

8. Keep learning about Keto.

I’m a bit of a bio-hack junky. I love learning how my body works. Fortunately, there are lots of great learning resources about keto online. Dr. Stephen Phinney is one of the most credible keto voices out there. He received his medical degree from Stanford University. In addition, he holds a Ph.D. in nutritional biochemistry and metabolism from MIT and completed post-doctoral research at Harvard University. He has several helpful videos. I have also enjoyed learning from Marc Sisson, Dr. Ken Barry, and Dr. Bret Scher (a cardiologist).

9. Stay inspired to stay the course.

Nothing motivates me like seeing real people get real results. Dr. Berg’s Keto and IF Lab, a private Facebook Group is one of my favorites. It is a great question to find encouragement, solicit feedback, and discover new resources. I also follow Keto Transformations on Instagram. It’s mostly before and after photos but they are dramatic — and incredibly motivational.

Again, I’m just a beginner myself. So if you have something you think would help beginners like me, please leave a comment below.

Update

My wife and I have now been on keto for nine months. I lost about 25 pounds in the first three months and have kept it off. I currently weigh 170 lbs, which is my ideal weight. Gail has lost about 35 pounds and is still losing. Both of us had to buy new wardrobes as our previous clothes no longer fit.

Keto has been easier than we anticipated. We occasionally go off it to celebrate a special occasion or holiday. We find that we are able to get back into ketosis in 24–36 hours. We are usually highly motivated to do so because we feel so much better when we are eating according to the plan.

As I said when I originally wrote this article, I intend to stay on keto for the rest of my life. The more I read, the more convinced I am that is the healthiest way to eat.

--

--

Michael Hyatt

I’m a NYT bestselling author. I’ve written 9 books, including my most recent, Free to Focus. Check out my podcast, Lead to Win, on iTunes.