What is up with beer can designs this month?

Mike McGee
2 min readSep 28, 2014

--

I think we should call September National Awesome Beer Can Design month because this shit is ridiculous.

Youngs Double Chocolate Stout

I don’t see many purple beer can designs so this was an automatic winner. And c’mon! Double CHOCOLATE?!? Also, points to having “Pure Luxury” in gold anywhere on your beer can.

Seattle Semi Sweet Hard Cider

I could absolutely not get over that “Semi Sweet” line when I first met this beer can. I also could not get over that sweet san-serif typography and all the clean lines on this beautifully-wrapped piece of metal. Love the trees wrapping around the bottom too. Seattle Cider is covering all the bases.

Goose Island Honkers Ale

Since this is my favorite Goose Island beer, I had to bring it to this party I went to yesterday. But as I pulled one of these suckers out of the cooler I realized how awesome the design was! I was like: “I BOUGHT THESE?!? DAMN MIKE YOU ARE AWESOME!”

Great remix design here Goose Island.

Miller Lite

I don’t know why, but I love these new Miller Lite can designs. Actually, I do know why.

  • Loving the white background with the gold rim
  • Loving the blue text with the subtle gold drop shadow
  • And gotta love the hops in the red circle being praised by more hops on the left & right

Bundaberg Rum

Ok I don’t really love this design nor is it beer, but this is the reason I got drunk yesterday.

--

--

Mike McGee

Managing Director, @CodeNow | Managing Editor, @Screen_Gods | Creator, This Week In Jams | @NorthwesternU Alum | Senior Tech Correspondent, @Vocalo