Happiness is not what you think

Michael Robinson
2 min readJan 22, 2023

--

How dare I tell you what will and won’t make you happy?

I wouldn't dare actually.

I’m still figuring out what my own happiness is but I have had a massive breakthrough.

For the last few weeks, I have been feeling more and more positive.

Perhaps the morning meditations?

the extra exercise?

Better food (sometimes)?

I don’t think so. These are just actions I do to try and make myself feel better.

So what am I so positive about…?

MY JOURNEY!

I have looked back at everything I thought I wanted (mainly materialistic, my kids don’t count for this theory) and every single time, without fail, when I got what I wanted I felt underwhelmed.

A nice car? Nice for a few weeks but meh

A nice house? House is a house

That perfect job title? Means nothing, your job is what matters.

My point? Even know at the time I didn’t always enjoy it, looking back now the best part of those achievements were the challenges I faced on the way.

I think a lot of people get caught up in setting goals and wanting to achieve or over achieve in every aspect of their lives, which is brilliant we need goals and objectives, but let’s learn to enjoy the journey as well as the destination.

In fact, the harder the journey, the better the feeling when you get closer and closer to your goals!

Exercise is difficult but it’s part of the process in getting fit.

Hard work is ‘’HARD’’ but it’s essential to hit your targets.

Reading can be boring but if you want to learn, read.

Next time you’re thinking about how hard you have it or how are you going to get out of a tough situation just remember:

ENJOY THE PROCESS, YOU ARE GROWING!

--

--

Michael Robinson

I read and write about Mental Health, self-development and lifestyle. Small actionable tips to make your life better. Co-founder of Moodify