The cycle of adventure

this too shall pass

Michael Tayamen Satumba
3 min readFeb 26, 2018

I love going to new places. I love meeting new people. I love eating new food. I love experiencing new things. I love adventures. But there is an unhidden truth to the adventures. You know what it is? They suck.

They are propped up on a pedestal. They are like shooting stars. “Oh, that was it?” Don’t get me wrong, I love adventures, but there is an unhidden truth to adventures that everyone experiences. There is a cycle.

When I first arrived in Hong Kong, there was this feeling of excitement, uncertainty. It was awesome! I felt like I can take on the world, I felt like I could have walked on water. This is what is called the “honeymoon” period. Feelings of euphoria, self-indulgence, pride, ego. You can’t believe you did it. You passed the class, you aced the driving test, you get that raise, you climb that mountain, you made it. You’re awesome and you feel awesome. Then that feeling wears off.

The next period arrives “crisis”. When I arrived in Hong Kong, I had the company of my friends to accompany me. They showed me around, they ate siu mai with me, they let me stay at their place. When housing finally opened, they let me go like they were my parents. I was happy that I got in my dorm and I was finally by myself. I could think by myself. “I actually did it”, I thought.

Then as I laid on my bed, with no covers yet (I bought covers the next day) I felt this emptiness arise. I was alone. I felt kind of… sad. I felt sad because my friends left me. I felt depressed. Then I felt anxious. “How am I going to survive now?” “I can’t understand what anyone is saying here, how am I going to order my siu mai?”

Then I felt again, alone, I couldn’t just turn my head and talk about my worries anymore, my friends weren’t there. I was sad than worried then sad again. This stage is called “crisis”.

Then next comes, “recovery”. After that night, I realized I needed to get covers (even though it was hot af). So I went to Ikea, then I met some people. Then I had dinner with them. I made a new batch of friends, outside of my original friends. I still missed them, but not as much. Then there were orientations, then that led to a huge checklist before school commenced. I had to knock them out.

So I really didn’t have time to be sad.

I didn’t have time to miss my friends. I had to get my shit together. Like literally, I had to gather my academic records. I was kind of stressed, in a good way. I was busy, not in a bad way. I was purposeful. I knew what I had to do and I did it. And along the way I made some friends. This period is named, “recovery”. Feelings of relief, consolation, and solace are “recovered”.

Then the next and final (kind of) stage is called the “adjustment”. After doing all these tasks the school had me do and mingling with the other students, I felt amazing. Maybe kind of a new person. I wasn’t excited, depressed, anxious, or even relieved. I just felt bliss. I knew were my classes were, when I would wake up, where the best siu mai was, where the hot girls sat, where I should sit, where I was supposed to be. I was adjusted. I felt in line with my purpose, between chaos and order. I felt bliss. That’s the “adjustment” period.

But it doesn’t end there. In all actuality, it never ends. Adventures will come and keep coming. They only stop when you stop. So keep in mind that emotions are very, very strong. One day you will feel like you can take on the whole world, and sometimes you will feel you are all alone with a world of 7 billion people. But remember you are stronger. You are stronger than your emotions. They will come and and they will go (as will you).

As Abraham Lincoln’s favorite quote states: “this too shall pass”

“Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise”

— Victor Hugo

--

--