Becoming an Entrepreneur in 2020. Too late? No!

Michael Stroev
6 min readDec 19, 2019

A few weeks ago, I had a conversation with a young guy who had recently finished university and is now doing some post-university work experience before deciding on a career path. He reached out to me because he wanted to hear my story behind founding Deskmates, and he wanted to find out what it’s like to be an entrepreneur and live the startup life. Near the end of our discussion, he shot an unexpected question and statement:

“Is it too late for me to become an entrepreneur? There are so many startups out there, and I’m afraid that the startup world is too saturated.”⁣

This observation was surprising to hear because I would imagine that the answers are apparent, especially to young people just coming out of their studies. Seeing that this topic might be unclear to somebody, I decided to put pen to paper and write this article, to give prospective entrepreneurs a thorough answer.

First and foremost, it’s absolutely not too late! I think that It’s never too late to become an entrepreneur and establish something of your own. Today, the startup world might seem very crowded, but the truth is that it’s not. In reality, I think that there has never been a better time to become an entrepreneur and launch your startup. Here are some more elaborate reasons why.

The Startup Ecosystem

--

--