DON’T Use Notion to Store Private Information

It’s simple. It’s easy. But is it safe?

Michael Swengel
6 min readSep 25, 2023

As soon as I started using Notion, it quickly became one of my absolute favorite productivity apps of all time. It’s simple and yet powerful. I fell in love with the fact that Notion’s powerful toolset makes life easy for everyone from the casual note taker to the hardcore, life-planning productivity fiend.

The vast ocean of templates available for Notion makes the app even more attractive to people like me who don’t want to spend hours on setup and just want to get to work building, creating, and getting stuff done.

But as time has gone on, there’s one thing truly nagging at me about Notion: I can’t control where my notes are stored. I have to use Notion’s storage in the cloud. And it lacks end to end encryption.

That means that storing personal, private, company-confidential data in Notion is probably not the best idea. No matter how much anyone might try to tell you that it is.

How Notion handles security

The team at NotionHQ have done a great job of laying out their security and privacy stance on their website. And it’s clear that they do care about the privacy of their users — as they should. Team Notion says a lot on their site that makes my…

--

--

Michael Swengel

11+ years experience working in the IT field. Loves writing about Apple, Artificial Intelligence, Microsoft and other relevant tech and productivity topics.