Obsidian is Frustrating Me SO Much

I switched from Notion, but now I’m questioning my decision.

Michael Swengel
6 min readJul 8, 2024
Obsidian is a great note taking tool, but it’s frustrating me to no end right now. Source: Obsidian.md

As a long time Notion user, I switched over to Obsidian as my note taking tool of choice. While I missed certain features I had come to enjoy in Notion, I appreciated the fact that Obsidian allows me to store my notes in a location I choose and even use end to end encryption if I want.

That switch came after a long search for a productivity tool that checked all the right boxes and met my needs. I jumped around from Notion to Craft and a few other tools and eventually stuck with Obsidian.

But recently, using Obsidian has felt more like a chore than a joy, and I’m honestly wondering if it’s time to move back to Notion.

Obsidian does lots of things well

Before I get into my complaints, I want to be clear: I love Obsidian for what it is. As a markdown note taking tool, it’s excellent.

I’ve loved the fact that I have control over my data, only storing it where I choose and being…

--

--

Michael Swengel

11+ years experience working in the IT field. Loves writing about Apple, Artificial Intelligence, Microsoft and other relevant tech and productivity topics.