Interesting Experiences

Ken Jennings is funnier than you’d think.

Spending the morning in the ‘Jeopardy!’ studio audience

Michael Williams
7 min readOct 21, 2023

--

Me, your author, behind a fake contestant’s podium at a jeopardy taping.
Me, your author, standing behind a fake podium backstage at the ‘Jeopardy!’ studio. Photo credit to author.

When I travel, I try to mix in some fun activities that are not on the average tourist’s to-do list. During a recent trip to Los Angeles, I sat in the studio audience for the taping of three ‘Jeopardy!’ shows. It was more fun than I ever anticipated.

I had the idea while planning my vacation, having never been in a studio audience before. Not really a bucket list item, but something interesting that I had not done. The tickets are free and available over the internet. You select your day and choose either the morning or afternoon session.

I went with a wonderful friend of mine, and we arrived at Sony Picture Studios in Culver City, parking in the free garage. We checked in on the first floor, where the audience preparation staff organized the us into groups.

At about 10:15 we were led through the studio lot, past huge numbered buildings painted a dull orange-ish color. Most were closed. There are red siren-like lights beside most of the doors, which would be on if there was recording happening inside. Beside the doors were plaques, with the names and years of shows or movies that had been produced there. Studio ten had only four names…

--

--

Michael Williams

Writer of life stories and travel adventures. I miss my wife and write about our life together. Travel is the greatest gift to ourselves. Cheers!