Why I’ll Not Be Taking a Covid-19 Vaccine — and I’m a Scientist

Michael Zimmerman
6 min readAug 29, 2020

(Note added on 6 April 2021: Although I stand by everything I wrote in this essay in August 2020, as I explained in a follow up essay and in the notes below, the emergency use authorization approval process used by the FDA three months later ended up following standard rules to evaluate safety and efficacy. Because of this critical change, I altered my opinion about Covid-19 vaccines. Not only have I been vaccinated, I have volunteered regularly at vaccination clinics.)

When a vaccine for Covid-19 is released in the United States I will likely be one of the millions of people who abstains from taking it.

As a scientist with a Ph.D. in biology, I am shocked to be writing those words.

As someone who has written and spoken out regularly about the value of vaccination and against the pseudo-scientific position promoted by anti-vaxxers, both on the right and the left, I am shocked to be writing those words.

As someone at higher risk given my age and the fact that I take a drug suppressing my immune system, I am shocked to be writing those words.

As someone who has already had a flu vaccine for the coming flu season, I am shocked to be writing those words.

--

--

Michael Zimmerman

Founder and executive director of The Clergy Letter Project, Ph.D. in ecology, promoter of the liberal arts, long-time academic administrator