How To Recover From A Long Break In Writing

Getting to the root of the problem is the first step

Michal Bernolak
4 min readJan 6, 2020

You don’t feel like writing anymore. You got to a point where every day feels like a Greco-Roman wrestling match against you and your will to write. You still write, but the sparkle in your eye is long gone.

That was me two months ago. “Dammit Mic, what’s wrong with you,” is something I repeated to myself every day until I completely stopped writing. At first, I thought I was lazy. I thought I’d royally fallen off, and there was nothing left to write about.

I started to fizzle after eight months of consistent writing. For some, it’ll be more, and for others, it’ll be less. A rare few will plow on without missing a day for years, but unless you’re a god among mortals, don’t worry.

Every grinding halt has its reason

I used to enjoy writing so much, what had changed? Why was I looking at ideas and tossing them all into the wood chipper? That’s the question that I had to start with, and you will too.

Remembering the reason why you started writing in the first place is the focal point of your inevitable demise. Demise is a dramatic word, but that’s how it feels when your writing starts to slow down for reasons unknown to yourself (yet).

--

--

Michal Bernolak

In the process of self discovery. I learned to write for over a year, but am now learning to code.