This Is What One Crazy Night Shift Looks Like At A Hostel

5 lessons learned while working as a night manager

Michal Bernolak
5 min readMar 23, 2020
Photo by Omar Lopez on Unsplash

It’s 2:45 am, and she refuses to stop arguing with me. I can tell she is French; she is drunk, and is on a mission to “speak with the manager.” Well, guess what, sweetheart, I am the manager.

The situation began to escalate when I politely told her and her obliterated posse that the kitchen was temporarily out of bounds because I was cleaning. The floors were wet, and there was bleach on the kitchen surfaces.

The hostel is also at full capacity. Some well-mannered neighbors are trying to get some shut-eye for their big day of waterfall touring and bungee jumping in the Atherton Tablelands, surrounding the small city of Cairns, Australia.

This was work for accommodation, meaning I didn’t get paid, but I got to stay at the hostel for free.

Now that I am backpacking Australia, I’m open to all sorts of new gigs and interesting experiences. Let me tell you, this one is both.

Doing something that makes us uncomfortable

I love the quote: “do something that scares you every day.” It reminds me to train myself on how to be more comfortable in uncomfortable situations. That’s one of the reasons…

--

--

Michal Bernolak

In the process of self discovery. I learned to write for over a year, but am now learning to code.