01:31 AM Yoga

Michal Korzonek
4 min readMay 5, 2018

Rebooting my brain at the airport before a 6 hour flight.

Illustration by Sílvia Bastos

As the clock strikes 01:23 AM I realize that almost everything I was supposed to do today is now finished.

I am exhausted, which doesn’t surprise me since I spent last night on an overnight bus to Bangkok. My flight to Tokyo is in a bit less than 5 hours. I won’t be sleeping tonight either.

There is only one last thing left: one hour daily yoga practice.

I can pretend it’s okay and forget about it, but I’ve been doing it everyday for the past 20 days and I’m not going to stop now. In fact, let’s cut the crap. I get up and pick up my yoga mat. I roll it on the floor in a spot a bit less exposed and I put my headphones on.

I am doing this. Yoga at the airport at 01:31 AM.

Child’s pose.

The soothing voice of the yoga instructor begins to sink me into relaxation. I am too tired to feel self-conscious about people who might stare at me, but my body is all tense from two days of travel. As I breathe and stretch my arms as far as I can, my mind slowly wanders into a place of bliss.

Downward facing dog flows into plank.

I drop my body gracefully and hover above the ground with a wild smile on my face. Who am I to do this kind of…

--

--