8 Ways to Master an Exercise Routine

Michale Matthew
3 min readMay 24, 2018

--

1st October 2010, I made up my mind to start an exercise routine; I registered myself with a gym, bought all the smoothies and sang the tales of my very wonderful decision over and over to my family.

Let’s just say i made up this mind and 20 other minds till the 25th of May 2012 when I sat down and told myself, “Michale, you can’t go on like this, you have to figure out a way to make workout plans and actually stick to them,” so I started planning and researching ways to successfully integrate my exercise routines into my day and master them.

The rest is history

I have picked out 8 most effective ways that helped me, I am sure they would help you too

1. Join a community fitness group

Like it or not, Carbs become way more appealing the second you decide to cut down on them, it’s like a basic law of the universe. You need to find people, who are in the same shoes as you are and create or join a community fitness group, More importantly, find that community in your estate or a gym close to your office that you will go by in your normal route to work. The key is to fit it into your daily routine; otherwise you’ll just keep giving excuses. This group allows you enjoy the common goal of getting fit or lose weight collectively.

2. Buy the basic exercise wear.

Do not start by thinking you must have all the gadgets and gizmos that is sold for exercise. Take it from me, all you need are a comfortable pair of sportswear with a good feel and an easy to wash, no itchy fabric. Life is not hard

3. Invest in good walking shoes

This is must, Get the shoes that allow you walk for a good distance without the sole of your feet being pressured too quickly. Using bad sport shoes can lead to nerve problems and a variety others. It also saves you from tiring easily and helps you stay longer in the workout routine.

4. Hydrate

Drink water as you go. The sweating causes you to lose vital ions; you can spice things up by adding lemon, cucumber and ginger. Pretty tasteless though but amazing for your body.

5. Go easy. Don’t overdo it

I remember doing a few jump ropes and checking the mirror immediately to see what changed, and when I didn’t see anything, I would go a couple more rounds. Well, I am happy to let you know that I didn’t magically develop abs instead, all I got were sore muscles and long hours of ice therapy. Pace yourself, you must warm up your muscles and allow it to be supple, this would reduce soreness. Don’t overdo it.

6. Stretch

Most of the time, the reason we don’t go back to the gym is because all our muscles are tight and achy, there is a solution for that, stretch, the accumulated lactic acid would be expended and you’ll be more than okay to go to the gym the next day.

7. Wear a sunscreen

Vitamin D is good but sun burns are not; especially if you live in the tropics like I do. Ensure you use generously. Wearing a sunscreen helps protect your skin, reduces wrinkles and sunburn.

8. Rinse and Repeat

Habits are formed after about a month of repeating the same thing at the same time so form a strong exercise routine by doing this singular thing. Do not cheat by stopping for a while and hoping to catch up on all of it on one day. Go easy on yourself. You are in competition with one but yourself.

Save for later?

Click here to have this article sent to your inbox

Just before you leave

Here are my recommendations for books and services I’ve reviewed that can improve your results. This is a short list since it only includes my top picks.

SELF-DEVELOPMENT BOOKS

The ABC’s of getting out of debt — Garrett Sutton, ESQ

Think like a champion- Donald Trump

Live Long, Finish Strong — Gloria Copeland

Rich Dad, Poor Dad- Robert Kiyosaki

Before you quit your job- Robert Kiyosaki

Mastering the Complex Sale- Jeff Thull

Think Big, Kick Ass — Donald Trump

--

--

Michale Matthew

Entrepreneur|Coach|Business Development Consultant. Passionate about the Girl Child and Women Rights.