The thing is though, one does not simply “do the visa application”

Michelle Adams
2 min readOct 15, 2017

--

The story started here

You must have heard that there’s many MANY requirements you’d have to meet to get here.

I mean, that’s not to say it’s impossible, because against all odds, I’m here after all.

By many accounts, a person like me has no right to be so ambitious, so expectant. But here I am… sorry. Not sorry.

Anyway.

The visa application process is simple… apply online. But the attachments that are required (together with the associated costs) can be enough to make one change their mind, cancel all plans and stay put! Let me just break it down for you. They needed the court order (£4K) passports, kids school enrolment (initially £1k) my college enrolment (initial payment £2k), student private health insurance (£3k) financial details like bank statements plus visa fee of £495 or something like that.

Of course – as you know – I had the court order already 😁 and having decided to follow my lifelong passion for cooking and my ambition to go to culinary school, I signed up for a diploma in hospitality and to subsequently do a professional chef course. My mum and step-dad paid the student health insurance for me and the kids so at least those hurdles were sorted.

The kids school enrolment was simple enough, you’d think. The admin at the school, however, neglected to mention that she was off on leave for two weeks before she had sent the confirmation letter that I needed to add to my visa application. What?? So frustrating!!! COME ON!!

You’d think she knew she was going on holiday right? I was messaging her on the Wednesday, and still on the Thursday. And she was gone on leave on the Friday. I still wonder why she didn’t think to mention it. 🤔

So I prepared mentally, thinking it would only be December at the soonest that I could leave. I had wanted to benefit from the cheaper flight costs in October, but reluctantly accepted that it was not to be.

But then suddenly, even before those two weeks had passed, the visas were granted!! #Outrageous

With that all in place or in progress, I just needed to sell a few things.

Sounds easy that part, huh?

— — Hey new reader …

I’ve only just started adding my story to Medium, so if you’d like to catch up or fill in the gaps visit me on Facebook where much more of the story has been thus far.

--

--

Michelle Adams

Riding the rollercoaster holding on for dear life, welcome to my story. Strap in ...