From Cambodia to the Caribbean — challenging myself & travelling the world.

Michelle Mangal
10 min readSep 13, 2018
Photo by Brian Trepto on Unsplash

When was the last time you dived into something that stretched you beyond what you’d done before?

A question guaranteed to make you think right?

The last time I dived into something that stretched me was when I volunteered for three months in rural, northern Cambodia with the ICS programme and the charity VSO. I had wanted to do the VSO programme for several years but it never was the right time, and if I am honest, I probably lacked the confidence or push to motivate me to apply. That all changed last July when I found myself suddenly single and no longer a teacher. Little did I know it, but this time period was gearing me up to be an active citizen and to contribute to the world. Holidaying in Cornwall that summer I met a girl who had volunteered on the ICS programme, and she encouraged me to apply. The next day I completed the application in one go; and in November I successfully got through the interview to be a team leader. I wasn’t completely happy in my new job so it seemed a perfect time to leave. In April 2018 I would be leading a group of 18–25 year olds on projects relating to improving the economic livelihoods in Cambodia.

--

--

Michelle Mangal

Poet, thinker & traveller. Blog on life; motivation & inspiration. My debut poetry collection 'All The Things I Learnt From You' is out now. IG: michellemangal