TWELVE FAMOUS PEOPLE WHO WERE SUCCESSFUL DESPITE THEIR MENTAL ILLNESS

Michelle Monet
15 min readMar 5, 2017

From Mike Wallace to Mark Twain…they not only survived but thrived.

Famous, successful people who suffered darkness and mental illnesses but still thrived.

OUR OWN KIND OF CRAZY

We all have our own kind of crazy
Yes some of our brains are just hazy
Some drink too much booze
Jump overboard on a cruise
Life’s a movie
Just call up Scorsese!?

From my poetry book Limerick Explosion.

While doing research for my book about Creative People I found quite a few famous people who suffered from serious and not so serious bouts of:

  • Depression
  • Mental illness
  • Bi Polar disorder
  • OCD issues

and other ‘craziness’(?) but who were still quite successful.

That’s what I want to focus on in this story. The good news — not the fact that there are many mentally ill creative people.

DUH! I mean we all know that’s true.

In this article I want to focus on the:

Creative successful people with mental illnesses who in spite of

--

--

Michelle Monet

Musician. Author. Poet. Seeker. Currently writing Showbiz Memoir and Broadway style Musical. My 5 books are on Amazon. Contact: 1020monet@gmail.com