Wes Putnam: ANYTHING Is Possible

Michelle Tennant Nicholson
6 min readDec 15, 2021

In my series, “People Making a Difference,” I speak with Wes Putnam, Phoenix Center Manager for Landmark Worldwide. (Time Magazine and other major news, like CNN and the Wall Street Journal, have called Landmark ‘the gold standard’ in professional development courses. They operate in 21 countries.) Fun fact! When I was 24 years old, I completed my first Landmark personal development course. I recommend it to all my friends and family. Twenty-eight years later, I still believe it had more impact on the trajectory of my life than any other course I’ve completed. This includes my master’s degree in human development. I hope you enjoy this interview with Mr. Putnam. He’s a true inspiration. ~ Michelle Tennant Nicholson

Jason Dudek/Jaydproductions.com

Thank you so much for your time! I know you are a very busy person. Can you tell us a story about what early experiences brought you to your specific career path?

Funny story. I never thought I was someone who could be accountable for the operations (in two states) of a global company. Who I was for myself in my mid-twenties was someone who was destined to live with my mother and wait tables for the rest of my life. Then, I was the 5th caller on a radio station and little did I know my career path and who I was for myself just altered forever. I won tickets to a dance club in downtown Phoenix and the DJ asked me to come introduce myself once I got to the club. I introduced myself and that DJ ultimately shared with me about this transformational course called The Landmark Forum. I participated in that course, fell in love with the education that Landmark provides for people, and the rest is history. Over 15 years, I have developed myself from someone who had no confidence or belief in my own ability to be successful and make any sort of difference on the planet, to be someone who has the confidence and skill to manage and lead thousands of people in this geographical area to dramatically improve the quality of their lives.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you in your career or education?

As a little kid I wanted to be on the cover of a fitness magazine. There was a problem though — I was one of the smallest kids in my school, insanely skinny, and not athletic. Growing up, I was painfully embarrassed of my physical size, strength, and ability. As an adult, I became a closeted fitness fanatic with a secret desire to be someone in the fitness industry, but I couldn’t shake the image of myself as that little wimpy kid. However, I work for a company where we say to people anything is possible. At the age of 39, I discovered I wasn’t living that way. I started sharing my dream, and sharing it with lots of people, and shortly after that, I was on the cover of my first fitness magazine!

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting out in your career? What lesson did you learn from that?

I’m at the airport, running, sweating, my mind racing, because I knew I was cutting it close to get on my flight. I’m the newest of one of 45 people worldwide who train and develop the leadership of our company, and my first mandatory training on how to fulfill this is this afternoon — a 5-hour plane ride away. I arrive at the front of the baggage check line and the attendant tells me I’m too late and she won’t check my bag. A whirlwind of thoughts goes through my mind — beg her, bribe her, throw all my luggage away in the garbage and get on the flight, cry, beg, make a scene, ANYTHING — I had to get on that flight. After trying out a few of those options, I did NOT get on that flight and missed the training. My opportunity I had worked so hard for to have the privilege to be one of our trainers was revoked. So, I do what any sensible human being would do. I drive home and stare at the fascinating patterns of my carpet for an hour that seems like 47 days. Then, I drive back to my office and my boss says to me, “Don’t get sad, get responsible.” So, I did. 3 months later when I applied to lead again and was accepted, you better believe I was early for my flight. More importantly though, I got on the plane clear that I’m not a leader because of yesterday’s accomplishments. Leadership is not a title, a right, or a place to get to. My opportunity to provide leadership is just that. An opportunity. It’s a privilege. When I miss the shot to provide leadership now, I hear my boss: “Don’t get sad, get responsible.”

What are some of the most interesting and exciting community projects that you’re working on now?

When I think of the community projects I’m at work on, the first thing that is there for me is the people whose leadership I am empowering. For example, I’m currently working with a young student in Honduras who is committed to empowering the youth in his country. I’m working with a gentleman in his 70s whose vision is to have closed captioning readily available for people everywhere so that anyone who has trouble hearing can participate easily in anything. Another project I’m working on is having the work of transformation be available in people’s native language, whatever language that is. I have a team of several people at work on altering what is possible in the quality of lives for realtors and real estate investors. I’m also at work on making transformational programs readily available for people in any workplace in the Southwest.

What’s cool is that one of our company’s programs, called the Self-Expression & Leadership Program, has been the catalyst for more than 150,000 non-profit and pro bono community projects around the world.

What are 5 things you would tell your younger self?

1) You are already great. Really. You don’t have to prove that to anyone.

2) Go after what you want!

3) You’re gay. Seriously. It’s cool to be gay. Just come out already.

4) Don’t fall in love with your high school straight best friend.

5) You don’t have to figure things out on your own — it’s ok to get help.

You are a successful person. Can you share some tips on how young people today can get ahead?

· Find people who support what you are up to, and stop hanging out with those that don’t. Spend time with people who are pulling for your success and, in turn, you are pulling for theirs.

· Share with people what it is you want in life. You never know what that will make available for you or them.

· Do The Landmark Forum — go beyond where you are stopped in life. It’s the greatest gift you can give yourself.

They say the new influencer is a #Givefluencer — how are you paying it forward with others in your life?

There are so many people who have invested time, energy, and resources into me to empower me to live an awesome life. The best way I know how to honor everyone’s contribution is to contribute that back to others and empower others to live awesome lives.

Is there a particular book that you read, or podcast you listened to that really helped you in your career? Can you explain?

The Three Laws of Performance by Steve Zaffron and Dave Logan. This book cracks the code on creating breakthrough performance in companies large and small — even when the odds are stacked against them.

You are a person of great influence. If you could inspire “good news” what would be your headline and 3 talking points?

ANYTHING is possible.

1) You can accomplish FAR beyond what you currently see is possible for you and your life.

2) Whatever it is, you can do it. Despite what you may think from time to time, you’re the right person for the job.

3) Have fun in life. Laugh. If you can’t laugh at yourself from time to time, you’re doing it wrong.

How can people connect with you?

The Phoenix Center of Landmark Worldwide: 602–222–1110

wputnam@landmarkworldwide.com

Facebook: Wes Putnam

Instagram: Wes.Putnam

--

--

Michelle Tennant Nicholson

Human development author | entrepreneur | publicist | beekeeper | whitewater kayaker | Siberian husky hugger | Chief Creative Officer WasabiPublicity.com