2nd hand “haunted” car (a true story)

Soul writer
6 min readMay 12, 2024

How soul clings to their car and unable to move on to the afterlife

Photo by Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

Things go way back when I was a kid, 5 years old, my dad bought himself a Toyota Cressida, his favourite car. Years later due to bad clients my dad had to sell his favourite car just to support the family. Years later his business got better again, he look for the same model of car that he sold.

Mr Chen, a friend of my dad, call from other part of the city telling he had one car that is looking for new owner in need of financial support he had to let go at a cheap price as soon as possible. Of course my dad took the deal without any doubt because it was his dream car.

Back then I was around 7 or 8 years old. I remember one time my elder brother got allergic that almost cost his life because it was serious that cause blockage of his breathing. my dad drove the Cressida and rush to the hospital, just about two hundred meters away from the emergency door the car shut down by itself , but we manage to reach the hospital cause everyone got down the car and push it , thankfully my brother got treated. Back then I am not suspicious of anything…yet.

Dad had to park the car at garage for years after he suspect the car is not longer reliable due to the incident that almost cost my brothers life.

We moved to another house and my dad brought the car to new house. Still. I was about 12 years old back then. Well nothing suspicious still cause the car park on garage for years.

Just few weird dreams about a couple who asked me to join them. That same dream , same person asking to join them for years.

By the age of 17 when I had my driving license, my mom pass me the key for the Cressida, I sent it for service before use, to my surprise the mechanic told me everything about the car is brand new, engine bay, oil, brakes, gearbox, all in perfect condition. Just an oil change and new tyres will be up and running.

I start questioning why it shut off during my elder brother were rushed to the hospital if the car was in such a perfect condition. Maybe it was just bad luck, I told myself.

Like every new drivers, we have late nights when we got our driving license, one night I head home and my friend were tailing me, maybe he was going to visit me and it was coincident we met at the road. So I head home, park the car. And wait for him to park his and small talk, but, he didn’t stop his car, he put on reverse, and left.

“Yo brother why didn’t you park your car and come in just now?” I called immediately after seeing him leave.

“Yes I was about to but then ,Dude you have brought home 2 person I do not want to interrupt , they was in the car with you”he said.

I didn’t say much but immediately know what I have to deal with, “ok brother I call you tomorrow, get home safe” just trying not to frighten my friend because he still driving home at that moment. Cause I am sure that I was the only person in the car and no one else is with me.

The car were never driven ever since. I didn’t tell my family about it. I was scared. But only tell my friend Alex the guy who tailed me home and left after I parked the Cressida. We both forgot about it ever since.

Few years ago after Covid, I was thinking I have to refurbished the car that had been sitting in the garage for so many years, just to make my dad smile to see his car were restored in a great condition and as a son, my dad is getting old and I want to restored it as a present for him.

The car was towed back by my friend, a mechanic. During the restoration period my house have lots of strange noise. One that caught me real bad was the night I was sitting in the washroom, voice of female shout beside my ear, I asked my wife if she tries to pranked me, she was upstairs, she said no she didn’t.

Lights dimming, stuff falling from desk, cold breeze of winds, I knew it is not normal. I called my friend Sean and talk about it. Sean, a friend of mine who got used to work off the grid and seen countless unanswered scientific entities. “Come to my house, bring this home” I went there and he passed me one part of wood. About 2 ft of length. He said that the wood normally can scared of unfriendly spirits or entities.

I brought it home, and my wife were alone sitting at living room with cat. She said she was scared cause our cat was staring at the back section of the house while I was away. The house had lots of noise.

To my anger I bring the wood, walk towards the back corner of the house, the lights been dimming..on and off, the downlight was brand new and it is impossible to have defect in such a short period of time. I point the wood towards the section. “Look, if you try to cause more chaos, don’t blame me when I hired a priest, a monk, whoever that can sucked your soul and trap it in somewhere you can never get out of, stop what you were doing, now!”

The dimming light immediately brightened and stopped acting weird.

The next day I got a call from the mechanic telling me the car had been restored and ready for collection.

My wife driving me there and I send the car back to my dad’s house. Upon arriving, my wife got down her car, I asked her to documented it by taking video I had done restoring the car while I drove the car into my dad’s garage. Everything seems normal.

I park the car, went home. That day onwards there’s nothing wrong with my house, all the noise, weird things stoped. I thought it was a really successful conversation the night before that the entities weren’t there anymore.

Looking back at the videos my wife documented. There’s a part when I drove the car into garage, there was two dark figure standing there beside the car. The light , shadow , cast by sun, block by shade, there is nothing that can explain how clear it was two shadow standing there which is unnatural.

This time I asked my dad, “dad where did you get this Car, what was the car plate before you registered a new one” I asked days later when we dine in together.

“Q94” he said.

The next day I called my friend who worked at registration department and asked to check this registration. “I will call you back tomorrow, maybe lunch ?”

The next day we meet up for lunch , we talked about the car,

“This car… how did you get it” he asked.

“As far as I can tell, my dad friend said he needed the money and had to sell this car immediately”

“This car had been involved in suicide cases, one women, one man, probably from debt of gamble they end their own life in this car”he said.

I called my elder brother, asked him to move the car to another part of the house, and lock it forever.

Follow me for more true stories. If you are not scared, do private message me I can send the real photo my wife took. You can send for investigate if the photo was edited.

--

--