Cupidontuesdays
3 min readMar 10, 2020

CHURCHY MEETS WORLDLY!!!

I am Ajiboye Yewande Oladipupo, my husband's name is Fortune Anthony Oladipupo we met while schooling at FUTA while we were in 200l. We started as friends and this was the status quo for a while. Through our time as students. It wasn't until we graduated that we explored that. He is a very cool guy. Very smart and sharp.

As friends we were really good together. However no one was rooting for us to end up together due to our polarising personalities. I am a church type while he wasn't exactly the type. Which made it seem like we couldn't mix. As we started with a beautiful friendship it was a really solid ground to build on which really made it easy for us to ease into dating smoothly

When he asked me out it was really a no brainier. First question I asked myself was 'who better to date if not your best friend'. I just couldn't imagine dating someone I wasn't close to. Someone I could converse with freely. He was just the best option. Apart from that he's just the perfect partner for me. He makes me better and with him by my side I feel we can take on the world. He's just the bone of my bone...

However that's not to say we didn't have our own issues. we had things we had to over come. For one, we aren't from similar backgrounds. While I come from close knitted large family. While it's not to say that his family members are at logger heads with each other. It's just that the close bond that exists amongst me and my folks is more than can be said for his. We were raised differently. His upbringing was definitely tougher than mine while things were a bit less tense with. I'm what you would call an ajebutter which meant he was more streetwise than me. It also meant he developed a more determined core, more than I could say for myself.

One thing though, our differences has meant we ve complemented each other perfectly which means we are always making each other better

As our relationship developed. It all built up to a very beautiful moment. For two people seemingly perfect for each other it was logical that things would become definite. While the fad is to have public proposal. Ours was the opposite. It wasn't the stereotypical one. While we didn't join the wagon it also wouldn't qualify as romantic. Bust your head if i may. It was actually preceded by an argument.

It was in the heat of the argument that he decided to do the deed. One minute we were having at each other next minute he was going off like 'if you think I'm doing this, why would I buy a ring, why would I want to propose to you...' cue the silence that followed. And that was it. No brouhaha, no drama. It just happened.

Following that, the next thing was to start planning the wedding. It was time to start raising funds and as we wanted something small, the invitation weren't flying. We were trying to keep things in control. Avoid unnecessary spending and keep the crowd under control which led to it's own set of disagreements over whom to call and whom to leave off.

Sometimes I would wonder how we ended up together but thanks to my Christian faith I ve come to see the benefits we bring to each other despite our glaring differences which have actually made us better individuals.

Cupidontuesdays

We tell true love stories of young and intending couples... 💞