VR Hand Animations

Miguel Pacheco
2 min readOct 15, 2023

--

I downloaded and imported some hands animations that we can find in Filebase.

These hands animations will contain animations for the hand bones. We can use any hand model we want, and the animations should work properly.

I’m going to use the fist animation to know when I’m trying to direct interact with objects.

Animator

I’ll create an animator controller for each hand so I can set the state based on the controller input.

In the hands prefab I dropped the animator controller.

In the Animator Controller for each hand I created two states. One for when the hand is open and the other for when the hand is closed. These states are going to be called by a trigger.

I don’t want to have exit time on these animations, so I’ll unchecked it. Also set the motion for each state.

For each hand I’ll open the XR Controller component and enable hand animation. Then write down the name for the select and deselect trigger.

Now I have a fist hand animation when pressing the grip button.

--

--