Photo by Liv Bruce on Unsplash

Dear Warrior Woman

Miha Dalaya

--

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel when you
took your first soft breath?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel when you
heard those joyful vibrations
of your life-giver’s heartbeat?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel when you
opened your delicate eyes
and grazed this rustic world?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel when you
spoke your first memorable
words?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel when your
stumbling crawls turned into
lightning fast sprints?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel when your
precious hands graced the ink
in books for the first time?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel when you
felt the new sentiment of happiness,
with the pictures to last?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel when the
new sentiment of pain skinned
your heart, with the scars to last?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel as you travelled
across the vast oceans of the
world with your newfound
partner?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel when you
discovered a teeny life was
growing within your womb?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel when you
lost that life, then once again,
and again?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel as you reached
the desire to have a life alongside
you, always?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel when that
teeny life climbed into your
arms, but with nobody by
your side to indulge in the
beauty?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did it feel to see that
life grow older through agonizing,
yet wonderful, long years?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel when you
found out another tiny soul
was nesting within, after failed
attempts and lost hope?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel as your body
caved in, as each movement
conjured piercing pain up
and into your spine?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did it feel to risk everything
as a chance for your yearning
to come true.

So you fought through the hell?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel to find your
final strength within two
children, only to be hit harder
by fate?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel when abandoned
and left with only two innocents
who loved you so dearly?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel when witnessing
your home melt away with the snow?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel when working
ruthless hours alone, only
to provide them with delicious
meals, made from your soft hands?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel as your deteriorating
health robbed you of energy,
slowly yet steadily?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel when pressured
to continue without pause,
because of the fear of falling
behind?

Of letting them down?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel when your
children’s voices over the
phone were the only endearing
sounds to push you through
a 12-hour work day?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
How did you feel when thinking
about this lifestyle not changing
until the last second, and
carry it onto your last breath?

My Dear Warrior Woman,
I know I’ve been asking without
pause, but allow me to ask
you one last time…

My Dear Warrior Woman,
… How does it feel to live
this life…only so that your
children live their lives with
freedom, and the visions you
sacrificed…

the visions, dreams, and
memories you made for
yourself, but ended up making
for us.

My Dear Warrior Woman,

… My Dear Mother.

Mama, I will love you, forevermore.

--

--

Miha Dalaya

I am Amisha Dalaya! You may have caught on… my pen name is “Miha”. (mihaloes.my.canva.site/)