GSoC 2020: Week 3 experience

Mihaila Alin
2 min readJun 20, 2020

--

Hi! The last week was great! I managed to finish work with what I expected and I hope I did a good job with my tickets. I also finished my university exams that were delayed due to Corona Virus and now I can be more focused on GSoC.

Tickets I worked on

I continued creating tickets for remaining classes and I also updated the list with the files that need switching from Hibernate Mappings to Annotations.

I created a pull request for each ticket, and the link can be found in comments section from each ticket.There are still in review, so everyone can come with suggestions or tips.

Challenges faced

This week I didn’t have some big problems, but there were small concerns with some fields and classes. As example, the class Location extends the class BaseCustomizableMetadata that have a field called attributes that is used in the child class. This field’s mapping was in every class that extends the base class, and I didn’t know exactly what to do. The solution I found was to add generic annotations in class BaseCustomizableMetadata and then I added @AttributeOverride in Location class to override the column name for this field. Another concern was with class Concept, that had in it’s mapping the mapping for other 2 classes, and I asked my mentor for help. I created a draft PR and he clarified to me that I have to also add annotations for these 2 classes before deleting Concept’s mapping. I also asked for help on forum to other comunity members.

The target for next week

For next week I want to do more than 6 tickets and to create a pull request for each one. I also have to resolve any inconsistencies in the code I already sent, if anyone have a suggestion for me. As I have done so far, I will create the tickets as soon as I start working on a class, because I have to check if there are dependencies between classes before starting to write annotations for a class. Hope for a great week!

--

--

Mihaila Alin
0 Followers

Hi, my name is Alin Mihaila, I am from Bucharest, Romania and I am student in second year at Faculty of Automatic Control and Computer Science.