Mika Bense Spruill
1 min readJul 5, 2017

--

So true. Did you write this specifically for yourself or others (perhaps both)?

Ive noticed that both of us have created a few of these touching poems about life, anxieties and self doubt. Stagnancy (or lack of moving forward) was the death of hope (for me)…waiting for something to happen but paralyzed so deeply by the fear of failing that I wasn’t willing to go out and try to change it myself. But stillness caused me to marinate in my own sad thoughts, which made me worse, and at the time, I had no outlet to objectively explore my feelings (like Medium and Poetry). I wish I’d read words like yours a decade ago. I might have “tried” and saved myself years of hopelessness. Eventually, my first child woke me up, but I don’t recommend that route for everyone. 😉

--

--