My Origin Story

Michael (Mike) Ciccolella
2 min readApr 10, 2023

--

My courageous birth mother gave me up for adoption, hoping I’d receive enough food, a home, an education, and better living conditions.

My amazing parents adopted me from Mexico at thirty days old and brought me to the United States. A top-shelf upbringing, with two loving and encouraging parents and a younger sister, nurtured me throughout childhood.

Growing up, I shadowed my father, a former pro football player who became a sales account executive post-football. He took me on many client site visits and taught me to appreciate the ritual of suiting up and a proper shoe shine.

As an adolescent, my father’s home office was next to my bedroom, so I overheard his daily prospecting calls and voicemails for years.

After graduating high school, grateful for my life-altering adoption and privileged upbringing, I realized I wanted to give back, make a difference, and strive to serve — that’s precisely what I did!

I worked as a homemaker/companion to the elderly and disabled in their private homes, assisted living facilities, and nursing homes.

Then three years later, my manager, who oversaw 300 healthcare workers, said, “𝘐’𝘮 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘷𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘤𝘰𝘮𝘱𝘢𝘯𝘺, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘩𝘢𝘷𝘦 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘣𝘦𝘴𝘵 𝘢𝘵𝘵𝘪𝘵𝘶𝘥𝘦 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘸𝘰𝘳𝘬 𝘦𝘵𝘩𝘪𝘤 𝘐 𝘬𝘯𝘰𝘸. 𝘐 𝘸𝘢𝘯𝘵 𝘵𝘰 𝘤𝘩𝘢𝘮𝘱𝘪𝘰𝘯 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘧𝘰𝘳 𝘮𝘺 𝘫𝘰𝘣. 𝘞𝘩𝘢𝘵 𝘥𝘰 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘵𝘩𝘪𝘯𝘬?”

My heart swelled, I blushed, and time seemed to slow down during that memorable conversation that would change the trajectory of my life forever.

With newfound confidence, I started the management job and discovered I thoroughly enjoyed leadership, building relationships, and marketing additional services.

Later, I transitioned into a successful B2C outside sales role and learned that prospecting was my favorite part of the job.

A year later, I discovered my career passion and excitement for B2B business development, receiving two performance-based promotions within two weeks. I jumped from SDR to SDR Team Lead to SDR Manager overseeing 300 people again. Destiny!

I still learn something new daily in business development and love every minute of it.

Reflecting on the journey, I realize we always need support from others to thrive.

So many wonderful people have helped me along the way, and I’m eternally grateful.

I look forward to hearing your origin story.

Originally published at www.linkedin.com

Thanks for reading! Like what you read? Share it. Follow me for more sales development and business development content.

--

--

Michael (Mike) Ciccolella

https://linktr.ee/mikeciccolella | Founder and Chief Marketing Officer @ Grow Your Sales Pipeline℠ | Sales Development | Business Development Coach | Recruiter