Building a Crude UV-C Mask/PPE/IPad/Phone Disinfection Chamber (1 hour, $30, minimal tools) Part 3(Cooler Build)

Michael Dubrovsky
2 min readApr 8, 2020

--

Links to Parts 1 and 2

This is a more ergonomic version I made for personal use. In the video above you can see the limit switch controlling the power to the bulbs.

Through a friend, I got some requests for similar boxes from exasperated doctors in the Boston area and I built a few (had to scavenge local “free stuff” facebook groups for coolers to avoid going to the store). They seem to want them for things like packages and other items besides masks (which hopefully they can disinfect through some official channel or not reuse at all).

The build steps are similar to the original bare minimum box, with a few modifications:

  1. I used aluminized plastic instead of Aluminum foil. Make sure to check that the side facing out is actually Aluminum (use a voltmeter to check for zero resistance)

2. I secured the cord on the coolers I gave away. If you have access to a real strain relief cable gland, definitely use that but this makeshift setup actually came out very sturdy.

3. All the parts were screwed down, not hot-glued:

4. I added a limit switch to the later build (finally they came from my original amazon order) to shut off the UV lights when the lid of the cooler is opened.

I recommend cleaning the Aluminized plastic with rubbing alcohol to make sure it is a good UV-C mirror.

If people are interested I could put up details about how I would mass-produce these

Happy sterilizing!

--

--