Twitter Postmortem

Michael McCartan
4 min readNov 28, 2017

--

Throughout this semester in Digital Culture, I have become aware of so many new perspectives that people can have. I learned to look at things in a new way, while respecting the opinions of others. When engaging with classroom topics on twitter, I had many insightful comments. These are the 4 tweets that best show my understanding of readings and topics discussed in class.

I personally feel that these are my best tweets because I clearly show my understanding and interpretations of the readings. I connected with these readings and provided my opinions and insights on them. I personally really enjoyed the remix unit where we were able to rewrite our choice of comic because it was something new and gave me a solid way to show my creativity. I definitely connected with the readings that week more than any other because it showed me the reason people remix things, and made me think about something that I see so often on a much deeper level.

Although I did have some very good tweets, I also had some very vague tweets which didn’t truly represent current topics in class, and instead connected to digital culture as a whole. Sometimes I was unsure what to tweet about or how to connect to readings, and I believe that I could have improved a lot with these tweets by understanding that I was supposed to be engaging with course topics instead of the broad phrase, “digital culture.” Two of these tweets, even though they are from the same week, are completely unrelated to in-class topics. This is why I believe I should include both, because they demonstrated my lack of ability to display my understandings of the readings that week, and made me look like I was tweeting just to tweet.

Although it is my fault that I did not engage as much as I was supposed to, I think there are a few better ways to get students interacting with one another on twitter. It would be awesome if, on top of our regular twitter assignments, there were threads started by the instructor to spark debate or discussion, while us students have post notifications turned on and are actively intrigued by opportunities to engage with one another. Twitter has a lot more to it than just hashtags, and I believe a Digital Culture class could benefit from some polls or debate threads.

Based on my twitter participation, I would give myself the following scores:

I tweeted enough to cover the criteria assignment: 2/4

I was effective in presenting my own understandings of the course materials: 2/3

My tweeting shows a progression of my own understanding of digital culture: 3/3

Total: 7/10

I only tweeted half the amount that I was expected to, so I believe I should get half credit for that category. I believe I was more effective in presenting my own understandings of the readings than I was not, so a 2/3 seems accurate. Towards the end, when I became more interested in reading about new things and different perspectives, my tweets were more insightful and demonstrated my abilities to interpret and connect to course topics very well. This improvement deserves a 3/3.

I look forward to reading about new topics in the future, especially with an open mind. I will work to improve on engaging with course work and my peers in different ways and better show my interest in various types of cultures.

--

--