Fishing: An Unexpected Lifeline For My Anxiety and Depression?

I’ve Found A New Way To Focus On The Present Moment

Mike Corazza
Curated Newsletters

--

Photo taken in early April 2024 after catching a Pickerel/Walleye.

Since before adulthood, anxiety and depression have been unwelcome companions on my journey through life. They cast shadows over even the brightest moments, leaving me feeling isolated and overwhelmed.

In 2020, I suffered a massive cardiac arrest, adding a whole new complexity to my existing struggles with mental health. I was diagnosed later that year with PTSD.

Although I found some relief through medication and therapy, the weight of these conditions persisted, clinging to me like a stubborn fog. I struggled, even while engaging in activities people usually enjoy.

Then, in a twist of fate, the tide began to turn when my younger son Alex’s hockey coach, Tony, extended a simple invitation: “Would you like to bring Alex fishing with my son and me?”

It was a kind and innocent gesture, but one that would soon alter the course of my life in unexpected ways.

Initially, I recoiled from the idea. Anxiety gripped me tightly, and I found myself making excuses to avoid going.

Luckily, Tony asked more than once, and I eventually summoned the courage to bring my boys out on a sunny Saturday morning in June 2022.

--

--

Mike Corazza
Curated Newsletters

Having survived a cardiac arrest & severe depression/anxiety, my writings offer real-life health experiences to help those seeking how to become more resilient.