Growing Together, Step by Step: Reflective Parenting

Mike Tobin | The Sporadic Dad
4 min readApr 5, 2024
Photo by Julian Hochgesang on Unsplash

Alright, mates. Let’s crack on with today’s story…

Ever found yourself just staring at your toddler, wondering what on earth is going through their little head? That’s pretty much me, day in, day out with my daughter… No big parenting manuals in hand, just winging it and learning alongside her, which, if ya’ ask me, feels like the blind leading the blind sometimes.

It’s the Simple Things

So, I stumbled across this nugget of wisdom the other day — kids need to reflect too, even the tiny ones, like my daughter at 17 months. Sounds a bit daft, right? But it’s not about making them sit down and question the meaning of life. Nah, it’s the little things that count, like pausing to marvel at a bug or figuring out the best way to stack blocks without causing a mini avalanche.

Keeping It Real

How do you get a toddler to reflect? It’s not like they’re gonna jot down their thoughts or sit cross-legged pondering life’s mysteries. It’s all about giving them their own space. When my daughter’s in her own world, playing, I just let her be. If she’s having a go at stacking blocks and they topple over, or if she’s trying to fit the square peg in the round hole, I don’t swoop in. I watch her puzzle it out and have another bash. That’s her, growing…

--

--

Mike Tobin | The Sporadic Dad

Graphic Designer | Marketing | Writer | Sceptic | Proud Father | Amateur Horror Writer | Editor at Parentify