How I Use Notebooks

Mike Vardy
3 min readNov 5, 2016

Despite the fact that I use several apps in my productivity workflow, I have a tendency to use paper a lot as well. As a matter of fact, paper is often my first method of capture. This is for a variety of reasons, such as:

  1. It doesn’t require recharging, so it never runs low on juice.
  2. There are far fewer limitations to paper, unlike on a digital device.
  3. I can have multiple notebooks available to me (one on my nightstand, one in my jacket, one in my travel case, etc.), which isn’t the case for my devices.

But I don’t use them as a means to keep a to-do list. Instead, I use them to ensure that I get the right things done. Paper helps me connect. There is an ever-present feeling about it, one that gives me the knowledge that capture is just a few pen or pencil strokes away.

Here is what I use notebooks for:

  • Capturing ideas for posts and projects
  • Doing quick brain dumps
  • Outlining
  • Mind mapping

Ultimately, however, I use notebooks to connect with the things that are most important to me on a daily basis. I keep them handy because I don’t want to lose sight of what I really want to accomplish. My mind stays clearer knowing that I have quick access to a tool that can take care of any…

--

--

Mike Vardy

Family man, productivity strategist, creator of TimeCrafting, founder of Productivityist. Here's what I'm doing now: http://productivityist.com/now