The Noise and The Quiet

Mike Vardy
2 min readJul 27, 2014

I find that when I’m traveling that I’m a lot more introspective than usual.

Maybe it’s because I’m often going solo on these trips. Maybe it’s because I miss my wife and the kids. Maybe it’s because there’s some quiet at long last and I’m cherishing it. I don’t know.

But I do know that I need this every once in a while because otherwise I get caught up in the noise.

The noise is hard to escape. It follows me as much as it can, and is very tough to lose. But when I make an effort to rid myself of it, I’m no longer running away from anything. Instead, I’m still. And that’s where the magic starts to happen.

As I write this I’m in a house where everyone is sleeping. I’m looking out at a great view and the only thing I can hear are my inner thoughts and the clacking of the keyboard. To be honest, my inner thoughts are much louder than they keyboard clacking…as they should be.

The quiet is where I come up with my best stuff. The quiet can happen in the early morning or in the late evening. Sometimes it can happen in both. The quiet serves me, but only because I listen to what’s held within it. The quiet helps me move forward when I feel I’m stuck in one place.

I know I wouldn’t appreciate and value the quiet without having to deal with the noise in the first place. But I’m sure…

--

--

Mike Vardy

Family man, productivity strategist, creator of TimeCrafting, founder of Productivityist. Here's what I'm doing now: http://productivityist.com/now