We Are All Workspaces

Mike Vardy
3 min readJun 23, 2014

I started writing this piece on the ferry as I headed over to Vancouver for a speaking event. The ferry system has wireless access, but it seems to be available only on a “first-come, first-serve” basis. So I looked at what I had on my plate and started doing something that didn’t require that type of access.

I continued to write this piece in my hotel room, which only offers wireless access at a charge. So I looked at what I had on my plate and, once again, started doing something that didn’t require that type of access.

Before I got back to my hotel room, I was sitting in a pub with my Field Notes notebook and a selection of Micron pens stowed away in my new Nock carrying case. I didn’t have my computer with me, and my iPhone was running on fumes, so I captured and planned away on paper.

No matter where I was on this trip, I was able to do something to move things forward. In fact, no matter where I am every day I am always able to do something to move things forward. I have learned not to rely on technology. For example, my presentation tomorrow doesn’t require wireless access and the slides act as triggers, so if my MacBook Air was to stop working I’d still be okay. All of the gear I have isn’t worth much if I rely on it more than I rely on myself. The gear helps me deliver the goods, but I’m the vessel that ultimately decides on what goods to…

--

--

Mike Vardy

Family man, productivity strategist, creator of TimeCrafting, founder of Productivityist. Here's what I'm doing now: http://productivityist.com/now