3 tips to beginners who feel learning coding is overwhelming

Milan Jolly
2 min readMar 22, 2023

--

Does learning how to code feels too overwhelming for a beginner? Especially when you are learning on your own. Let me share three things that have worked for me.

Learn one step at a time

When there is some new language or a tech stack to learn, I have seen that learning one step at a time helps a lot initially. Learn one thing at a time instead of trying to use everything at once. Once you learn things separately, stitching it all together is a lot easier.

Take breaks

Working all day in front of a computer initially feels very draining if you are new to it. Taking breaks helps. I take small breaks during the day. This helps in better focus while at work. There is a technique called as Pomodoro technique for working with breaks. You can see if it works for you or not!

Take care of your health

This is a no-brainer really. There are countless surveys to show why taking care of your health and regular workout helps. Especially when you are learning new things. But personally, I have seen that whenever I have kept my physical workout on, my overall performance at work or learning new things has significantly gotten better. I didn’t use to take care of my health initially and I wasn’t growing as a person at that time. I also got some diseases from that time. I have seen both sides and decided for myself that at least 10 minutes of physical workout is a must. It works very well for me. See if it works for you or not!

You can try out these tips. Let me know in the comments what do you think!

--

--

Milan Jolly

Software Developer — Amazon | Writing helpful tips for people who want to become self taught software engineers